April 30, 2013

  • The Lord Bless You and Keep You

    My look today:  Mob wife or Jackie O?

    I helped my beautiful momma out at my alma mater…DBU.  She was playing piano for the high school choir.  They did us a beautiful favor.  We had a few extra minutes and so the choir went down the the building named after my grandparents, and sang “The Lord Bless You and Keep You” in their memory.  It was quite lovely and I had a hard time keeping back the tears.  
    For reference, I found some pictures taken from the dedication of the building in 2004, nine years ago.  My grandfather was involved in founding the school, and was a professor there for something like 45 years.  My cute grandparents are in heaven now.  I sure do miss them. 
    Here is a video of the choir today.  
    My mother is conducting.  :)  Enjoy.  

Comments (5)

  • Love the song and the tribute to your grandparents. Miss mine too.

  • Great tribute to your grandparents.  Every time I pass the road my grandparents lived on I want to turn down it and they have been gone for over 10 years.  I was so blessed to have wonderful grandparents… 

  • Beautiful music… 

  • That was a wonderful thing for them to do………I miss my grandparents too…….I’ll be happy about that big reunion in the sky

  • May His Face Shine Up On You And Give You Peace.  May brings tears to many of us, and it is felt more deeply as the years go by, for it becomes harder when in the late nights we remember the faces who have gone and come within our own lives.  I see mother by her white roses and Daddy on his front porch just waiting for us to come home for Decoration Dad, and though I would choose a Catholic future, I know that the worshippers at the old church were I grew up are still singing, “When We All Get To Heaven,” –  What a joyful day that will be!”

    Honeysuckle would be there, and we would all be remembering or saying, “Goodbye,” to someone going off to school, just somehow away, away.

    Thank You For The Reminder.

    Barbara Everett Heintz, Author of Pinkhoneysuckle the Blog And “Pinkhoneysuckle” the book on Amazon, Kindle, and Create Space, Re:  One Woman’s Journey Through The Appalachian Farmers’s Diaspora  To be featured with Lee Hay, Cincinnati, WVXU

    Also Kathryn Kraaper, of *64, A Syndicated Television Show May 18th

    Signing At Joseph Beth Bookstore – Norwood Commons, Cincinnati, Early June

    This is our Appalachian Diaspora — When All Would Change In Southern Appalachia, Including or self reliance and pride, our hope our faith.  It is fully our, “Grapes of Wrath,” from the cotton fields to the old churches we loved, and the hidden American shame we bore as, “The New White and Black Trash,” as our fathers were forced into northern factories.  I hope that you will see why this book has won awards from California to breaking open middle America’s silence for a people who deserved a better day in May, 60 years ago.  God Bless Everyone who walked it with me.  Barbara Everett Heintz, Amazon, Kindle, Create Space

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *