June 4, 2013

  • Depression vs. Eating disorder

    Would you rather:

    Have an eating disorder or severe depression?  
    Definitions: 
    Eating disorder – where your every waking moment is consumed with thoughts of food, what you’ve eaten or not eaten, and how to control it.
    Severe Depression – Depression where getting out of bed is near impossible some days, life doesn’t seem much like living often, and you feel nothing can be done about it.
    Gosh, what a downer question, huh?  

Comments (21)

  • I am 79..  I was diagnosed mildly anorexic.

    I am 79. I was once depressed and needed professional help.

    I am doing OK now thanks to God.

  • Depression, or natural grieving?

  • Depression.  I’ve overcome that one.  Not sure how I would do with the other.

  • can’t seem to navigate my way through either…maybe one at a time would be easier to deal with, to choose. as it stands, i just can’t. i’m cursed with both.

  • Neither! Lots of people get BOTH!

  • Think I’ll stick with depression. If I were to make myself puke daily or starve myself, I’d probably end up depressed anyway. 

  • i have both. I wish to die and although I eat a little every day, I make sure I exercise most if not all of it off. I don’t really know how to fix this. 

  • Probably depression. I’m pretty sure I have it (though I’ve never been diagnosed) and it used to be really hard for me to get out of bed some days and face the world. 

  • depression, because  has to eat. Actually, as I’ve lost weight I have seen how addicted to sodas and bad food i was and still am somewhat.

  • Sometime both go hand in hand. You get depressed so you eat, eat. Your eating more than you should so you get depressed. I think they are both bad new. Bro. Doc

  • To be honest, I wouldn’t want either. It’s like asking what would I rather have, cancer or aids?

  • Gollee, that *is* a downer question. But I’d take depression any day. I’ve had it, and I know how to deal with it. An eating disorder would be terrifying.

  • If you think Stephanie`s story is exceptional…, won weak-ago my son basically got $8335 sitting there a ninteen hour week from there house and there co-worker’s step-mother`s neighbour did this for 8-months and got a cheque for more than $8335 part-time from there labtop. use the steps at this site, http://www.rev24.com

  • Sadly, I am plagued with both. And have been for years. Both diseases distract the mind, and cause a horrible life for the sufferer. There seems to be no end. However, there are medications that help with depression.
    There are no solid remedies for eating disorders. That is why they have the highest mortality rate of ANY mental disorder.
    If I had to choose, to be rid of my eating disorder for life would be liberating. Once you have one it never really goes away. There is always a slight obsession. Or a relapse just around the corner.
    Depression, for me, would be my choice to live with- if I had to choose.

  • I’ve had both. I don’t think an eating disorder is something that you can ever “cure”… it’s an addiction, it’s something you can (at best) hope to manage. Depression is sometimes a chemical imbalance and can be helped w/ medicine… but often people experience it due to life events / stressors (and I have… off and on, for years.) I would LIKE to have neither… but ya kinda get used to it, as odd as that sounds. Often, management of both is what we can hope for… and to me, I guess that’ll need to be “good enough.”

  • Wow – I have no idea!

  • You have a friend you can talk to in person.  I know what beyond severe depression feels like.  I don’t know what it’s like to not be depressed.  The only food related disorder I’ve experienced is having no appetite due to depression.  The only “friends” I had an option to hang out with wanted me to meet them at a strip club.  No woman I ever met didn’t prefer that type as friends and me as someone to joke about.

  • @GlOoMGiRl - Taking medicine to resolve depression is like taking aspirin to resolve the pain of a nail in your foot without removing the nail.  Depression is always a symptom of caring about something unresolved or unsettled in the mind; this can be a real concern or something imagined but still needs to be consciously stepped through to resolve.  Treating the symptom of depression only, without going through the root causes undermines the nature of caring and being driven to do right things for conscientious reasons.  That practice is aiding the deconstruction of the overall human condition.

  • @GlOoMGiRl - However, I’m not against slight adjustments to relieve enough stress as necessary to think through the causes so they can be resolved, or at least get other things done if resolution is impossible.

  • I hope you never feel as bad I have.

  • It has to be depression. It is a part and parcel of today’s life and I think I can manage it.

    Delmas Josef Blog

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *