Month: January 2013

  • Hitler and friends, with children

    Looks like a face you can trust!  Just look how kids adore them!

    Hitler.
    Stalin.
    Kim Jong Il.
    Castro.
    Obama.
    From here.
    I’m thankful that I have freedom of speech for now.
  • Happy 100th Birthday, Grandaddy!

    One hundred years ago, today, a baby was born.  He was born into poverty, a family in a two room house with 10 children in East Texas.  He grew up, and learned to run, and he never stopped.  He ran until he could run no more (when he had a stroke in his late eighties).  Even with a world record in track, he wasn’t finished.  

    He learned, and he didn’t stop.  He hitchhiked his way to college and convinced Pat Neff, the president of Baylor University, to let him in and that he’d pay when he could.  He became a pastor and went to seminary, pastoring small churches and met his wife in while singing Messiah in the seminary chorus.  He got his doctorate, had three children, one of whom died.  He went on to be a founder or Dallas Baptist University and taught Bible there until he retired at age 90.  The most important thing, though, was that was he best safari in the woods guide, and bow-and-arrow maker, and giver of piggy back rides a little girl could wish for.  
    Happy Birthday, Grandaddy.  I miss you so much, and I will see you in Heaven!
    I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  2nd Timothy 4:7
  • Today I did the Dr. Who/elliptical thing again.  I’m on Season 4 of Dr. Who, and that might confuse British people because they call it “series” instead of “season”.  Silly them.  

    Anyway…it’s  really good length of time to stay on the elliptical and watch one episode. I get my Dr. fix and get to burn about 350-450 calories at the same time.  That’s pretty golden, if you ask me.  
    I have a sleeping Zorro cat next to me.  He’s my constant companion, of late.
  • A good start

    Day at a time, starting now.

    I had a good day.  I spent most with my mom, a little piano recording, a little clothes shopping and groceries, and laundry.  I start the new year with a pure heart.  I aim to heal, not hurt.  I aim to spend my energy where it can help.  
    I need to make a list of goals for the year.  Any websites that you know help with this?  
    My short term goal at the moment is to get as in shape as possible, because I leave on tour in 19 days for Florida.  I had lost 11.5 lbs and I’ve gained 3-4 back in water weight from eating over Christmas.  Bad, I know.  But easily dealt with I’m sure.  Encourage me!  I have a slinky black satin dress to look good in!  
    Today I’ve eaten well.  I am going to get on the elliptical as soon as my dinner of soup settles.  I need to drink more water and take my vitamins.  Life is good.
    Goals I know for sure:
    -Get as in shape as possible by the 19th
    -Set a goal of reading one book per month {I always take on too many at once}
    -Read the Bible plan everyday
    -Live a Christian life
    -Let go of hurt.  This is so hard.
    -Continue to be in shape
    Here’s to a new year.  
  • 2012

    When we wake to the day, we grasp at it

    And run to it
    and fall into it
    But go as we might
    It is sand between the crevices
    In our fingers and hearts
    And time
    as much as we stall
    passes us by
    Grasp you might
    You can’t put a day in your pocket
    Or keep sunshine in a bottle
    Love flies at its own pace
    And time
    was a man you met
    On an afternoon
    and gone in time for tea.