January 3, 2013

  • Happy 100th Birthday, Grandaddy!

    One hundred years ago, today, a baby was born.  He was born into poverty, a family in a two room house with 10 children in East Texas.  He grew up, and learned to run, and he never stopped.  He ran until he could run no more (when he had a stroke in his late eighties).  Even with a world record in track, he wasn’t finished.  

    He learned, and he didn’t stop.  He hitchhiked his way to college and convinced Pat Neff, the president of Baylor University, to let him in and that he’d pay when he could.  He became a pastor and went to seminary, pastoring small churches and met his wife in while singing Messiah in the seminary chorus.  He got his doctorate, had three children, one of whom died.  He went on to be a founder or Dallas Baptist University and taught Bible there until he retired at age 90.  The most important thing, though, was that was he best safari in the woods guide, and bow-and-arrow maker, and giver of piggy back rides a little girl could wish for.  
    Happy Birthday, Grandaddy.  I miss you so much, and I will see you in Heaven!
    I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  2nd Timothy 4:7

Comments (18)

  • What a great post! Very touching. 

  • grandparents are the best. <3 giving my regards to what appears to be a man of great stewardship unto our Lord! Happy Birthday, and Memorial for you!

  • I imagine myself like this: running until I can’t.  Delightful tribute.

  • Awesome story. Your grandfather was an interesting, energenic man. My father would be 96 this year.

  • My dad turned 95 this year. He doesn’t run anymore, but he is still keen on finishing his latest invention while he can….and he loves the Lord. Thanks for sharing your tribute to your granddaddy!

  • That was a beautiful post, Amy. I love that last picture of him. :) I’m sure he’s running and smiling like that in Heaven! 

  • Lovely tribute! Thanks for sharing!

  • Grandpas are wonderful. Sounds like your was exceptional!

  • thanks for sharin’ this.. what a great life, and a great soul. (take care)

  • Happy birthday to him =) 

  • Beautiful post! One thing I love about the Mass and especially the Eucharist is that Mass is not merely the worship and prayer of the congregation, but we join with all the angels and saints in Heaven as well, and Eucharist draws us into communion not only with all the earthly members of the Church but also with everyone in Heaven, all through Christ. Whenever I miss someone who has died I always remind myself that whenever I go to Mass, we are at Mass together in a very real way. I also can’t wait to see some people in Heaven!

  • Hi, I hope you have an awesome New Year! ~ Pete

    “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away, behold all things have become new.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

  • Wow,Amy–what a man!! I am hoping just to start walking around the block while my wife is out of town to try and get back in shape physically.

    Some people do so much and really do start at the bottom in every way. He was a great man and it will be nice for you to see him again in heaven.

    frank

  • Lovely post. When did he die? 

  • Beautiful. Sorry to hear of his passing. Happy Birthday to him!

  • @angys_coco - Thank you.  He died in 2006 at age 93.

  • Fascinating history, and a great legacy. Happy birthday, Amy’s granddaddy!

  • Very touching post!  Thank you for sharing your tribute!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *