April 24, 2013

  • Aslan is on the move

    God is undeniably doing something in my heart.  I can’t get away from Him.  It’s terrifying and beautiful.  Pain draws our attention to an area that needs healing.  God is unrelenting in His love toward me.  

    I’m thinking about applying for a “real job”.  I’ve never had a 40 hour a week structured job.  I love this about myself, that I can do gigs, book shows, teach lessons, and choreograph and still have free time.
    But I’m sick of the uncertainty.  I’ve always envied people who know where they are going.  I’m sure the grass is always greener…right?  My sis-in-law works at a company that is hiring.  It would be a solid job, with benefits.  I have no work experience in the business world.  I think I just might give it a shot.  It couldn’t hurt, right?  
    Daybook:
    Today I’m thankful for:  The sunshine!!!  Yesterday was so dreary and grey and sad.  Today it’s sunny! :)
    Today is awesome so far because: I feel better than yesterday.
    I’m looking forward to:  Singing at church tonight. 
    Today’s challenges:  My car started making bad noises yesterday and the engine light came on.  I need to get it checked I guess. 
    Person, place, or thing of comfort today:  My blanket I’ve been wrapped up in all morning.
    Person, place, or thing I can help today:  I have a student today.  I try to help her have a clearer tone and better breathing. 
    One helpful word, idea, phrase, or quote to inspire me today:  ”Aslan is on the move.” C.S. Lewis, Chronicles of Narnia


Comments (23)

  • If you think that is where God is pulling you, go for it. Just don’t do anything out of fear :) And, yes, yay for the sunshine! 

  •  (smileys except for that car problem – that always gets me worried). May God bless ya!

  • Best wishes!! I’m kind of doing the opposite. Going from a stable & secure job into a fairly unsecure setting as far as hours go. Trying to find a job as a CNA now that I’m certified. Wish me luck & say a prayer! :) Let us know how this new step goes for ya!!

    Best wishes,

    ~*Akarui Mitsukai*~

  • I’ve rented Voyage of the Dawn Treader(Chronicles of Narnia) to watch for the weekend.  Have you seen it?
    Such an upbeat post.  I enjoyed it.  Hope the noises with the car turns out to be nothing.
    Wishing you an even more blessed day.
    ~ Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus ~

  • Hope that the possible opportunity works well with your profession – some freedom to accept acting/singing invitations. There is something appealing about having more control over financial needs. Too many people take advantage of financial expansion to the extent that they are once again living from paycheck to paycheck and needing still more money.

    If a job is something you love doing, gives you opportunity to learn and grow, or pays a whole lot of money, then it will be a good thing. If none of these is true, you’ll be wanting out of it soon.

    Best wishes to you!

  • I was having similar thoughts but with moving out of state. you get more opportunities later if you work full-time and/or are willing to move out  state.

  • I’m kinda in the same dilemma. I have 2 part-time jobs at our local library, and although I enjoy them, I would like a job with more hours and benefits (preferably one that is 9-5) but then, I also like having some free time too. But I also could use more money. :-/

    Hope everything works out for you!

  • :) I’m glad I discovered you in this little corner of xanga.

    Sounds like you’re in a good place. :)

  • Giving the ol’ 9-5 a try couldn’t hurt except for it driving you crazy.

  • CS Lewis, what a writer!  His Narnia books opened up ideas of Christianity for me that nothing else had except the Bible.  Loved by God, oh yes!  Blessings!

  • that first paragraph is as if i could have written it. He is drawing me too and yes, it is beautiful and terrifying!!

  • @Doubledb - Yeah, but I have no job skills for the kind of money I want :)  LOL.  

  • @nixxyknox - Thank you so much :)  I do like it here. 

    @AngelAsh_86 - Thank you so much. 

    @grace_to_be - He isn’t safe, but He’s good. 

  • I love reading good reports.  God Bless

  • @NightCometh - ha, what kind of money is that? Millions, ha ha.

  • Certainty with a 40 hour per week job?  I think you’re much better off now to be honest, and this is coming from a person who has a 40 hour per week job, with union bennies, union pay, and pretty lax supervision.  My wife makes as much as I do, cleaning as I do privately… 20 hours per week or so, just no medical benefits.  I have been wondering though, if I did what she does for 40 hours per week, could I actually afford to buy them myself?  WHAT am I saying??  Nevermind, I keep forgetting Obama has provided everything we need in that area.  I can get medical coverage while working at McDonald’s assembling vinyl food. 

  • I’m in a similar predicament myself, pondering a move from California (where I hate it) to the DFW area for a job with the railroad.  I’ve owned a small business the last several years which has been both a blessing and a curse. 

    As much as the autonomy is great, there’s a tendency for me to develop bad habits without the structure of a 9 to 5 job…  i.e. going to bed late, waking up late, not dealing with problems with the urgency they deserve, etc, etc.  There’s times I’ve drifted along for no good reason, merely because I can, and there’s nobody above me to kick my rear into gear.

    As far as salary and benefits go, working for a company — particularly a medium to large corporation — offers the advantage of superior medical insurance and sometimes a pension or 401k that is difficult, if not impossible, to obtain as a freelancer or small business owner.  Face it people, for us younger folks, Social Security will be broke by the time we reach retirement age and it doesn’t pay that much anyway. I believe the average payout is currently $1200/month. 

    God has blessed us with a brain and skills to be productive, so we might as well use them to the best of our abilities — not to buy a prosperous retirement for ourselves, but to have the funds to reach His kingdom, perhaps as missionaries when we retire from our working careers. 

    @saturnnights:  Never take your medical insurance for granted.  I’m single, going on 30 in a couple months, and have no major health problems.  That hasn’t stopped the insurance companies from labeling me as somebody with a pre-existing condition.  When I priced insurance plans for myself a couple years back, they wanted $1000/month with a high-deductible (i think $750 to $1000) even though my medical expenses for the entire year prior were about $1500.  With all the nonsense brought on by Obamacare, I’ll bet you the same plan you currently have would cost $3000/month if you purchased it on your own.

    David

  • @David - Who are you, if you don’t mind?  

  • @NightCometh - I just stumbled across your blog by accident, reading another person’s blog. Hope you don’t mind me commenting here…

  • @David - oh not at all. I was just curious if you found me on Twitter or something, since we seem to run in the same theological circles. I appreciate the comments. 

  • Oh really?  You come from the Reformed camp? 

    I take back what I said, I somehow found your profile using “Fort Worth” in the search terms.  Lord willing, I might be moving there if a particular job opens up. 

    What do you know about the church situation in and around Fort Worth, more specifically the Reformed churches?  If you like and it’s easier, we can move this discussion to e-mail if you’re OK with that as I don’t have a Xanga account.

  • @NightCometh - Got it!  I will send you an e-mail shortly.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *